Meredith & Me - SarahBarnes
1856
product-template-default,single,single-product,postid-1856,woocommerce,woocommerce-page,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,columns-3,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

Meredith & Me

5.00 out of 5 based on 10 customer ratings
(10 customer reviews)

$15.99

Sarah Barnes and her husband, Jim Hemphill, had big plans. He was a rocker with an eye on law school. She was a rising journalist. They traveled, laughed, loved, made plans, and married. But when their daughter, Meredith, was seven months old, they received a devastating diagnosis about her brain, and happily-ever-after became differently-ever-after from that point on. Although they faced many obstacles, their determined daughter helped them find hope and humor in the face of unthinkable challenge.

Category:
Description

Sarah Barnes and her husband, Jim Hemphill, had big plans. He was a rocker with an eye on law school. She was a rising journalist. They traveled, laughed, loved, made plans, and married. But when their daughter, Meredith, was seven months old, they received a devastating diagnosis about her brain, and happily-ever-after became differently-ever-after from that point on. Although they faced many obstacles, their determined daughter helped them find hope and humor in the face of unthinkable challenge.

Reviews (10)

10 reviews for Meredith & Me

  1. 5 out of 5

    “What happens when a pediatric neurologist tells two parents their perfect baby has an imperfect brain? In the hands of a journalist and memoirist as talented as Sarah Barnes, the answer is an account of a journey driven by boundless love, boundless heartache, and, ultimately boundless insight. ‘Meredith & Me’ is a profoundly moving book that is as deeply personal as it is deeply universal. Every one of us who has ever dealt with the vast surprises parenthood brings will want to read ‘Meredith & Me’.”

    —Sarah Bird, author of “Above the East China Sea,” columnist for Texas Monthly and contributor to numerous publications, including The New York Times.

  2. 5 out of 5

    “Sarah draws on her journalism skills and her 18 years of experience to capture the joys and challenges, heartache and elation of parenting a child with disabilities. With wry humor and honesty, ‘Meredith and Me’ shares moments of fear, anger, indecision, delight and amazement as she watches her daughter grow into a lovely young woman. A story that will resonate with all parents – and any reader who wants to gain insight into a unique, life-changing journey.”

    — Rosemary Alexander, PhD, Transition Coordinator, Texas Parent to Parent, and parent of a son with disabilities

  3. 5 out of 5

    “In ‘Meredith & Me,’ Sarah chronicles the happy times, the hard times, the tears, the epiphanies, and everything else with tremendous eloquence, eyes-wide-open honesty, more than a few tear-jerking moments, and, of course, humor and triumphs, too. This book is for anyone whose daily life includes children with disabilities, siblings, parents, friends, and community members. So, you know: All of us.”

    — Spike Gillespie, author of “All the Wrong Men and One Perfect Boy”

  4. 5 out of 5

    “Inspiring. Sarah Barnes tells her journey with humor and candor. The book is a lovely testament to the challenges and triumphs of family.”

    — Mary Bryan Stafford, author of “A Wasp in the Fig Tree”

  5. 5 out of 5

    “This is the book I wish had been available to me as the mother of a young child with agenesis of the corpus callosum. Reading this beautifully written book was like having a heartfelt conversation over a cup of tea with a sister on the journey of discovery.”

    — Kathryn J. Schilmoeller, PhD, co-founder of the ACC Network and co-author of “ACC and Me”

  6. 5 out of 5

    Sarah’s deftness for storytelling without being maudlin is truly a gift for readers of Meredith & Me. The narrative inspires and entertains, while educating and delighting at the same time. Anyone who’s ever loved a child or a mother cannot help but fall in love with this book and with the family who inspired it.

  7. 5 out of 5

    What a wonderful well-written book. The author delves into such an emotional personal story. This is a must read! This personal narrative is so illustrative that you are brought into snapshots of key points in their life from the diagnosis, childhood and motherhood struggles, to the overarching triumph of prevailing with this diagnosis.

  8. 5 out of 5

    This is a poignant story of parenting that is particularly fitting for those who seek empathy with regards to raising a child with special needs or who desire insight into the beauty and turmoil of being the parent of a child with special needs.

  9. 5 out of 5

    As a special ed teacher I have followed Sarah’s Statesman articles about her life with Meredith with great interest over the years. So I was excited to learn that she has written a whole book. I was not disappointed, as it was both informative and heartwarming. The details about their family’s journey from the initial diagnosis through Meredith’s school years were enlightening. It really helps me to see this path from the parent’s perspective. Many thanks to Sarah for sharing this road with the public.

  10. 5 out of 5

    This is a great read for a mother or caregiver of a child with special needs. I could relate to many of their experiences and it was nice to know what we are going through is similar to what others are dealing with.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *